Virach, Adisak removed from FAT executive board (06/07/2011)

Worawi Makudi, president of the Football Association of Thailand, has purged his opponents who campaigned against him in the election for Thai football chief.

Virach Charnpanich, who lost to Worawi in last month's FAT presidential election, and Adisak Benjasiriwan, who backed Virach, were excluded from the new FAT executive committee unveiled by Worawi yesterday.

Most of the 19 members of the new board are old faces in the previous administration.

Adisak was also removed as chairman of the national futsal (five-a-side) development committee.

Dubbed the "father of Thai futsal", Adisak will be replaced by Thirachai Wuthitham as the futsal chief, according to Worawi.

"Adisak and I worked together for a long time and he did a good job in futsal," Worawi said.

"But the fact that he supported Virach in the FAT election made me feel uncomfortable to work with him. I am afraid that [if he remained in the FAT] our work would not go smoothly.

"If there is a chance, I will talk to him for a better understanding."

Thailand will host the Fifa World Futsal Championship next year and the national side could be in trouble without Adisak.

Worawi is not worried about this and believes Thirachai can steer Thailand to good results.

Worawi is also unfazed by reports that several players, who are close to Adisak, would quit the national team.

"We can solve the problem. Players should be proud if they are asked to represent the country," said the FAT boss.

As the national team manager for more than 10 years, Adisak put Thailand's on the map of futsal world. Under his guidance, Thailand reached the world championship finals three times in 2000 (Guatemala), 2004 (Taiwan) and 2008 (Brazil).

Adisak could be in the government as his Phalang Chon party is likely to be in the new administration led by Pheu Thai. It could be interesting if Adisak is appointed tourism and sports minister as he would supervise the Sports Authority of Thailand which oversees sports associations .


1. Worawi Makudi (president); 2. Brian L Marcar (vice president); 3. Dr Prawet Rattanapien (vice president); 4. Wimol Kanjana (vice president); 5. Vicharn Meenchaiyanan (vice president); 6. Dr Chartchai Pukyaporn (vice president); 7. Peera Fongdavirat (vice president); 8. Ong-arj Kosinkha (secretary-general); 9. Suntorn Meesuwan (treasurer); 10. Dr Kasom Chanawong; 11. Kasem Jariyawatwong; 12. Samart Suppoj; 13. Maj Gen Chinnasen Thongkomol; 14. Maj GenMLSupreedee Prawit; 15. Nattapol Teesuwan; 16. Udornphan Jantaraviroj; 17. Pirom Unprasert; 18. Kriengsit Numrakchart; 19. Sophit Panomai

Source :