Lively Muang Thong breeze past Hanoi 4-0 (02/03/2011)

Muang Thong United got off to a flying start in the AFC Cup with a 4-0 win against Hanoi T&T at Yamaha stadium last night .

Thailand striker Teerasil Dangda scored two goals and Christian Kouakou and Anon Sangsanoi one apiece

to give the Thai Premier League champions a comfortable win in Group G.

It was Muang Thong's first win of the season after they lost to Chonburi in the King's Trophy match, were

defeated by Sriwijaya of Indonesia in the AFC Champions League qualifying and drew with Bangkok Glass in

the Thai Premier League.

Muang Thong attacked Hanoi T&T from the start with Teerasil and Datsakorn Thonglao squandering

several chances early on.

The home side broke the deadlock after 21 minutes when Jakkapan Pornsai's shot was blocked by Hanoi

goalkeeper Dung Hang Son and Teerasil tapped in the loose ball.

Muang Thong looked comfortable after getting the lead and kept piling pressure on the Vietnamese club.

Teerasil came close to scoring his second goal but his header went just wide.

Hanoi's only good chance in the first half came from Matias Eduardo just before half-time.

The Kirins finished off the Vietnamese with two goals in a five-minute spell early in the second half with

Kouakou on target in the 53rd minute and Anon hitting his team's third goal in the 58th minute.

After several missed chances, Teerasil completed the rout in the final minute.

In yesterday's other Group G match, Tampines Rovers of Singapore defeated Victory SC of the Maldives 3

-1. Muang Thong's next match is at Tampines Rovers on March 16.

In Group H, FA Cup champions Chonburi FC drew 4-4 at East Bengal of India at Salt Lake stadium in


Pipob On-mo (29th and 47th minutes), Adul Lasoh (43) and Ekaphan Inthasen (54) scored for Chonburi

while East Bengal got goals from Tolgay (7 and 23), Baljit (74) and Ravinder (82).

Hong Kong's South China shared a point with Indonesia's Persipura Jayapura after a 1-1 draw in the other

Group H game.

The top two teams from each of the eight groups advance to the next round .

Source :