BANGKOK (29 Sept 2009) It is still a two horse race at the top of the Thai Premier League 2009 with both Muang Thong United and Chonburi in a close fight for the crown this year.

Only a point separate both teams and this week, the script was almost the same as both Muang Thong and Chonburi picked up the full points to ensure that the joust for the title is far from over.

Muang Thong capitalised on a man advantage to thump Samut Songkhram 3-1 at the Thunderdome Sports Complex while Chonburi edged past relegation strugglers Nakhon Pathom 2-1 a day earlier.

International striker Teerathep Winothai nailed the opener for Muang Thong just four minutes into the game before Samut Songkhram striker Sitthiphan Chumchui equalised in the 29th minute.

But the sending off Sitthiphan for a second yellow card in the 40th minute changed the pace of the game as Muang Thong then surged ahead to score off Piyachart Thamaphan and Wisarut Phannasi for the win and the three points.

It was all drama for Chonburi in their win over Nakhon where they needed a late winner from Jeanmarc Benie in the 73rd minute before they were able to heave a sigh of relief.

Jetsadakorn Hemdang was at once the hero and the villain for Chonburi where after taking the lead in the 25th minute, hee scored an own goal in the 42nd minute for both teams to be on level terms.

In the other matches, hosts TTM Samut Sakhon defeated defending champions Provincial Electricity Authority 1-0 thanks to Supakorn Ruamkularbsuk in the 83rd minute.

Navy Rayong were beaten 3-0 at home by TOT FC with goals off Madengue Emmanuel (17th minute), Trakulchat Thongbai (74th) and Keerati Kewsombat (78th).

At the PAT Stadium, Thai Port defeated Bangkok Glass FC 1-0 in a match which saw five players sent off.

Pattaya United drew 1-1 with Osotspa at the Nong Prue ground while Chula grabbed a valuable three points at the Sirindhorn Stadium when they beat fellow strugglers Sri Racha 1-0 as Bangkok United drew 1-1 with BEC Tero Sasana at the Thai-Japan stadium.


1. Muang Thong United 55pts (+23)

2. Chonburi FC 54pts (+18)

3. Bangkok Glass 47pts (+10)

4. BEC Tero 45pts (+17)

5. Osotspa M-150 44pts (+6)

6. Thai Port FC 43pts (+7)

7. TTM-Samut Sakhorn 35pts (+1)

8. TOT FC 35pts (+1)

9. PEA 29pts (-6)

10. Pattaya United 28pts (-4)

11. Bangkok United 28pts (-8)

12. Samut Songkhram 28pts (-10)

13. Navy-Rayong 24pts (-9)

14. Nakhon Pathom 24pts (-15)

15. Chula United 23pts (-21)

16. Sri Racha FC 18pts (-14)